From the Beginning…

Posted: January 23, 2013 in Dust Related, EVE Related, General Shit-Shooting

I know what you’re thinking.

Another EVE blog? For serious?

Yes. For serious.

I have been playing this wonderful spaceship game off and on since 2006, and one of my favorite things to do, besides fly internet spaceships, is talk about internet spaceships. I don’t know about most of you, but it’s rare I get a chance to shoot the shit about flying in space, and since I’m already a fairly prolific writer (technical writer by trade, and I like to keep a handwritten journal), I figure what’s the harm in writing a little more?

And so here we are.

Now, a little about myself, and why you may want to continue reading this blog.

I am a TEST grunt. I’m a member of Dreddit and Subdreddit, and I have absolutely zero clout. You won’t find any state secrets pouring from these pages, but you may be able to get a sense of what the average grunt in the largest alliance / coalition in the game is thinking about, or planning on doing in the near future.

In EVE, I’m generally a frigate pilot. Interceptors, stealth bombers and EWAR mostly. Despite playing off and on since 2006 (my character, Cawfield was actually created in December of 2009), I only have 14 mil in skill points, and if I can’t fit into our doctrine battlecruiser of the day, you can catch me flying fast tackle in an Eres. I love me some small and fast ships.

I also fancy myself a bit of a smuggler. I consider my Viator my favorite ship (what? a ship without guns a fav? Yeah, I guess I can kind of be a carebear), as it has made me tons of ISK and gotten me out of countless bubble camps. I call my ship The Centurian Pidgeon 3, as I’ve only lost two during my whole EVE career.

I totally just made myself a target, didn’t I?

In DUST, I am your favorite logi-bro. My character is Jeremiad R. Doomprofit, and that’s probably how I’m going to be signing off on these posts (one, because it’s totally a better name, and two because DUST is threatening to take up much of my gaming time). I’m probably going to be writing about my and Subdreddit’s exploits quite a bit on this blog. I have extraordinarily high hopes for the Dust / Eve link, and while I know Dust has its detractors, I believe we are witnessing the birth of one of the greatest things to happen to gaming since the advent of MMOs.

I am finally getting around to writing a blog about the exploits of myself and my corp because yesterday was a historic moment for New Eden, and the events of that day have urged me to start something I will probably regret (this blog).

First: It was my birthday. Happy 29, me.

Second: Dust 514 entered open beta, and with it, the removal of the NDA. This means I can actually write about the events that happen in game without the fear of getting kicked from the beta. Expect updates on fitting and tactics soon.

Third: We almost went to war with the Goons. Damn, it was close. Actually, I thought we were going to war with the Goons, as did many others, until Shadoo inserted himself between Monty and The Mittani and calmed things down a bit.

This last point is the most important (er.. sorta, I think number 2 is kind of important, too), and the reason I actually wanted to start a blog. War is coming. One way, or another, it’s going to happen. I don’t particularly lean one way or the other when it comes to whether we should go to war or not, but I can tell you that the masses on both sides are pushing for it. So far, Shadoo has eased the hunger for war with hints of some ~big shit~ planned. We’ll have to see if his comments can calm everyone down for the 4 or 5 months he says he needs.

Honestly, I think that’s better anyway. The main reason I say that is because I’m so obsessed with Dust at the moment, I’d love to see some of the coming battles with the Goons take place on planets we care about. Blowing up a Goon ship is good. Blowing up a Goon face is better.

You can expect to read updates on this coming war in this blog, as well as updates to what we’re doing in Dust…and Eve if I can ever be tempted to hang up my repair tools for an Eres again.

Feel free to leave comments on any of my posts. I love hearing from you nerds.

The Great War begins Soon(tm)!

– JRD

Leave a Reply

